Hulala vs Kala CEM???

keywestkeely

Reaction score
Okay, I confess, I'm a lifelong musician but a newbie on the uke...

I'm really liking the sound of the new Hulala Ocean Dancer concert models--has anyone here tried them? I like what Uke Republic has to say about them, but would love to hear from some folks here before I decide.

Yeah, I know about those hula girl graphics, but I think they're kinda fun! I'm more concerned about sound, though...

I've got a chance to get a Kala CEM for under $100, which is my price point right now (I bought an Irish tenor banjo for Christmas and I'm still recovering!) I'm new to the uke, but I want a quality sound with some real volume and punch.

On videos I've seen, the Kala CEM sounds kinda muted to me, while the Hulala does sound louder. Suggestions about either or both, anyone??? (I just can't afford a solid wood right now, so I'll have to make do with a laminate before I save up for a Mainland...)

Thanks a bunch! And does anyone else here love Wendall Hall as much as I do? (yes, I know, new thread...)

I've tried a few Hulala ukes lately.
They are laminate, but they are some of the best quality laminates I've ever seen.

Looking at the rim edge of the soundhole to see the layers, it is "nearly" a solid.
The wood is just 2 layers, one layer being really really thin (the outer veneer).

As for sound, the Hulala's often sound better than Kala's laminate ukes.

Kala has better quality tuners though.

That's what surprised me--in the videos I've seen online, the Hulalas seem to sound better than the Kala laminates; they have a fuller, more open sound with more volume.