the rosewood or ebony fingerboard debate

weerpool

Reaction score
just recently went on a window-shopping spree for fingerboard material and i found this. any opinions as to how hard this bad boy is to work with and the amt of damage on tools and hands.
OR. just stick with the good ol' indian rosewood

thanks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sh4FmwzthYY

Last edited:
I don't find working with ebony all that difficult. Certainly easier than many Australian hard woods. As long as tools are sharp (goes for any woodworking) there won't be a problem working with it.

thanks Allen for the input. what would you recommend as far as cutting them into fretboard stocks, a handsaw, tablesaw or a bandsaw?

I'm new to ukes, but have done a bit of resawing over the years, including thousands of 2"x .125" birch strips for dog sled building. It probably depends on your set up and how confident you are in your ability to consistantly resaw shorter stock. I would use a band saw, especialy with higher dollar wood, you might get an extra or two fingerboards out of those pieces with the thinner kerf of a band saw blade if your set up can cut well.

If your guides or tension is off, or you just set it up a little funky:), then you can end up with a bit of wobble in your cut at which point you loose a lot to sawdust, at which point you were probably better off to have used a table saw to begin with.

I resawed some ebony for some fretboards myself recently for the first time, I was supprised at how smooth it went, even more so than with some of the other woods I have experience with, I took it slow but had absolutly no problems with it. I was using a pretty small bandsaw, 93 1/2", 3/4" blade with 4TPI. I also was resawing a bit of other stuff so I had all the kinks worked out by the time I got to the ebony.