30/40's Favilla Soprano Mahogany uke

garyg

Reaction score
I have always been interested in antiques, so when I started playing the uke about 8 months ago I became interested in vintage ukes. There were no stores in my area that carried these ukes so I bought a number off ebay to try several of each brand and now find myself with more ukes than I really need (yes there is such a thing). So I've been listing a few including a Gretsch and now a Favilla U2. This uke has a wonderfully rich and resonant tone that is typical of the better vintage mahogany ukes from the 30's/40's. Here is a video of the uke http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MFmRiPdGUHM . It does have some dings and finish wear typical of an old instrument that has been played. There is tarnish on some frets and tuner screws that can easily be removed with XXXX steel wool and the low portion of the fretboard show finish wear as does portions of the soundboard. I can take some still pictures if you're seriously interested. According to Tom Favilla 80% of the U2 ukes with black tuner buttons were made before 1945 and that's how I've dated this uke. Price is $235 plus ~$25 shipping/insurance. I'd be glad to answer any questions that you have. Nothing is wrong with this uke, I just have two others and have decided that someone could be enjoying this one regularly rather than have it spend most of its time in my closet, cheers, g2

Nice uke. I have a Favilla concert, and a Favilla parlor guitar, and they're both great instruments.
Just wanted to point out that the pronunciation of the name (according to Tom F) is Fa-VIL-ah.
Here's it is from Tom himself, as posted on the FMM Uke Yak many years ago:
"Hi Chuck, Easy answer on the Favilla name. It is pronounced, Fa-VIL-ah, by the family. Hope all goes well in the uke world. Tom (Fa-VIL-ah) "

Good luck with the sale!