Total noob wonders what step 1 is

pootsie

Reaction score
So between March 2-8 FedEx will deliver a shiny new powder blue dolphin uke to my doorstep. With any luck it will come Saturday while my family is there celebrating my 42nd birthday so they can all ask why on earth did you get this as a birthday present to yourself and why are you trying to pick up this zany thing now?

So once the box is open and everyone has said "oooh that's pretty," what do I do?

Here is some more background on me, so you know who is asking this dumb stuff:

I am not musically literate but have a decent ear and can carry a tune. I was forced to read sheet music in grade school but forgot it all.

I play hand percussion and am a fairly accomplished amatuer, so I have some rhythm and some idea of what practice is. From that I also know that I am willing to spring a few bucks on real live lessons, but that I could learn one or two things first to make those lessons more valuable.

Here is the list of some songs I intend to learn, in no particular order, and based on a combination of musical seriousness and total whimsy:

Where is my Mind? -- Pixies
Three Little Birds -- Marley
King Volcano -- Bauhaus
Thriller -- Michael Jackson
Over the Rainbow -- Iz version, of course
All of Me -- Willie Nelson version
Solsbury Hill -- Peter Gabriel
The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly -- Morricone (the UOGB version was our wedding march)
Imperial March -- John Williams
Misirlou -- Dick Dale version
Mad World -- Gary Jules version
Istanbul not Constantinople -- They Might be Giants version
Triops has Three Eyes -- They Might be Giants
Mercy Street -- Peter Gabriel
In Your Eyes -- Peter Gabriel
Snuggle Puppy -- lyrics by Boynton (music by ???)
Hakuna Matata -- Disney's Lion King
Smells like Teen Spirit -- Nirvana
Amazing Grace -- Blind Boys of Alabama version (to tune of House of the Rising Sun by the Animals)
Creep -- Radiohead
Hyperballad -- Bjork
Pure Imagination -- Willy Wonka soundtrack