Speed vs Accuracy?

nwahid

Reaction score
I've been learning my first song (Island in the Sun from Aldrine's tute) and I've got the notes and strumming pattern down for all parts. Now I'm trying to play it somewhat steadily. I'm just not sure what the best way to go about practicing is (if there is even a best way). I try to speed up and play at normal speed, but then my notes are all off. Should I continue to try to practice this way or should I just keep practicing at my own speed until my notes are consistently accurate?

I'm guessing that playing consistently is better than speed, but I am impatient!

I'm new to the uke, but not new to music. Just an observation: I've noticed that something that is near impossible when I first try it is much easier the next day. If I take a day off from that piece of music it actually improves much more the day after that. But I don't wait longer than that.

Maybe a neurologist could tell you why this is...something about brain neurons developing. Anywho, you and bob have the right of it. Practice slower than you need to at first and then pick up speed. Frustrating if you want to learn it quicker but you'll be happier down the road to be able to play it flawlessly =)

You might want to consider trying a metronome. You could adjust the beat to a slower pace that you're able to maintain and play accurately. Once you have that down, you can step up the beat a bit until you're able to maintain and play accurately at that pace. You can continue stepping up the pace slowly in this manner until you're at the pace and accuracy you're looking for.

Last edited:
You might want to consider trying a metronome. You could adjust the beat to a slower pace that you're able to maintain and play accurately. Once you have that down, you can step up the beat a bit until you're able to maintain and play accurately at that pace. You can continue stepping up the pace slowly in this manner until you're at the pace and accuracy you're looking for.