New Laws for Instruments storage on Airplanes

Just returned from flying Southwest.

Their answer was that each plane had a certain number, I think 2, of double overhead bins, and that guitar sized instruments and smaller were exceptions to the little "caary-on" template box at the check-in counters.

The part I don't like is the last sentence in the article;

the new FAA rules won’t go into effect until final regulations have been issued, which, according to the bill, will be “no later than two years after the date of enactment.”

Don't you think it's amazing that we can't solve these issues without Congress having to weigh in? It's incredible. What dolts we must be. But I agree it's better than being told your valuable instrument MUST ride in steerage and have the requisite three bounces by the boots of the luggage gorilla as it's crammed into the plane.

Fortunately, as a hobby level musician, I just travel with my Martin S-O in a hard case. It fits easily in overhead storage, and has always been accepted. In a pinch it would probably survive in the passenger compartment. It's good enough to jam with other musicians, or perhaps even a gig a coffee house etc, but not so precious that it would be a disaster if something went wrong.

If I were a professional, gigging musician, I can only imagine how stressful it must be to fly these days. I'd probably invest in a really high-quality pressurized case that would survive any harsh environment, try to bring it on the plane anyway, and buy a really good insurance policy... Oh, and find out where I could locate a uke in whatever town I was flying into, "just in case".

Don't you think it's amazing that we can't solve these issues without Congress having to weigh in? It's incredible. What dolts we must be. But I agree it's better than being told your valuable instrument MUST ride in steerage and have the requisite three bounces by the boots of the luggage gorilla as it's crammed into the plane.