Number of Strums Per Bar in Songs with Lyrics...?

imajical

Reaction score
Hello, all! I am still a struggling newbie learning my first 8 chords, but I got a Uke Leash, so hopefully that will help chord changes become a little easier for me. With college going on, I keep losing my calluses, so I have to make sure I plunk around every day, no matter what.

Anyway, this seems like an odd question, but I am a music newbie in general.

In songs with lyrics, I have found that I have a REALLY rough time keeping the strum pattern going, making sure I have, say, 4 strums per bar in 4/4 time, AND sing the lyrics. I have found that my mind can't sing the song and focus on the right number of strums at the same time.

My question is, do I HAVE to strum so many times a bar, or can I keep a good strum and tempo going and change chords at the right times (such as when a certain lyric comes around)?

I feel like I'm not describing my issue well. I sing the song, then worry that I've strummed 5 or 6 times per bar and I wondered if that was really that important, and if so, how I'm supposed to keep singing at the right speed AND strumming correctly at the same time.

I am frustrated.

The best piece of advice I ever got is: Strumming is drumming.

One of the things I did to train myself to strum properly is to tap out the beat on my leg, when I listen to music.
I then learned that if i tap with my thumb (do a 'thumbs up', then turn it on its side and tap the beat on your knee or thigh) I'm doing pretty much the same motion as strumming! Just drop your index finger down and let it strum!

As for how many in a bar, don't worry about it. Do as few as you need to be able to get through. Once your brain clicks and you "get" it, more strums will come. Do one per bar if you need, or one per chord change if that,s what it takes. It,s one of those things that is the hardest thing in the world to do... Until it's not. Then you'll smile and say "how the heck did I not get it?"