Anyone Rocking the Waverlys?

the.ronin

Reaction score
WANT :drool:

Waverly_Ukulele_Tuners_sm.jpg

Anyone rocking these? I've got some ebony button ones for a guitar and they are rock solid. Thinking of upgrading the Schallers (?) on my Kamaka with these.

Are thy Koa? They look aesthetically nice.

Are thy Koa? They look aesthetically nice.
LOL people are going to think I work for Stew Mac (they own Waverly I think?) ... yeah they are koa. But the price is hmm kinda steep for Waverly.

Would really complete the look on a Kamaka though I think - much more than the sealed Schallers on their now ...

kamakahf3-4.jpg

I've had a couple sets of the koa button uke tuners and they work very well. I also like how light they are for geared tuners, money well spent in my book.

They are Koa. They're great and really hold tune very well, but I have little experience with other tuners. The stock Grovers on an Islander MSC-4 do not hold tune nearly as well as the Waverlys.

U2a.jpg

Holy smokes!! i was considering till i saw the price. And I usually buy the expensive stuff

Look folks,...."cheap" they're not,.....but THAT'S what you're paying for,.......TOP quality! And they for sure are that.

Machining costs more than stampings,......simple math. I have 2 sets of these, and would not hesitate to install a set on any ukulele worthy of an upgrade. The high gear ratio makes slight tuning adjustments a breeze,.....and are they SMOOTH when adjusting. The worm gears are solidly held in place with a screwed in bushing,.....very solid. Usually the worm gear is simply "hooked" in place behind a stamped metal ficture.

I also like the weight savings over the metal buttoned Grovers i replaced on my Kanile'a soprano K-2 (Walnut/Bearclaw Spruce). The Waverlys better balanced,.....eliminating the peghead-heavy feel.

........if you have a ukulele you really love, and the upgrade makes sense based on it's value,......you won't be disappointed!