Makala MK-C v. Lanikai LU-21c?

miki7

Reaction score
Hello! I'm a beginner looking to purchase a uke, just looking for some opinions. I've searched the forum and youtube and can't find nearly as much info on the Makala MK-C as I'd like. Does anyone have anything to say in favor of this uke?

My two options are a Lanikai LU-21c and a Makala MK-C. The Lanikai would come straight out of the box without any set up, but the Makala would have proper set up and a set of Aquila strings put on it. (The Makala would come from HMS.)

Just wondering what some more experienced players thoughts are and if anyone has anything good to say for one v. the other. And regarding set up as well, as I've read that it's important especially with cheaper ukes.

Thanks for the help!

I bought a Lanikai LU-21C from a local shop and then spent $50 having it setup properly and it plays like a dream. I also have an Ohana CK-35L which cost 3 times as much but I actually prefer the Lanikai for its playability.

I do like the sound of the Lanikai but the problem is I can't find anyone local who would be able to set it up for me.

Since you're asking opinions, no contest. I've owned two Makalas and played dozens of Lanikais and would prefer the Lanikai by FAR. And they usually are very well set up from the start.

Last edited:
I have both, my makala is being used by my friend at the moment. Of the two, in my opinion, even when the makala is set up, the Lanikai is the superior instrument. The lanikai comes with Aquila strings on it already too by the way. I still love my little lanikai!! Good luck with your decision and enjoy!

The quote below refers to Tenors, but probably applies to Concerts as well. Even if you do find someone locally to perform a uke setup, you'll need to budget $20-30, which will probably put the cost of the Lanikai very near to an Islander from HMS.

I know this is just one person's opinion, but here's what MGM Mike has to say about beginner-level laminate ukes: