Going out of tune UPWARDS?????

oceanjaws

Reaction score
ello!
My friend has a ukulele (a Stagg! I know..) and the Cstring keeps going out of tune. It's a Stagg - of COURSE it is. But it's going sharp!. And it won't stop!
How can this be?
Je ne comprend pas!

Am I entering.. the twilight zone?

Inadvertently moving the C tuner while handling/playing it?

I have been having the same problem with my fender. I am pretty sure it is because of temperature change while transporting it. It is friggin cold up in Maine!

As it warms up, my strings go sharp but all of them do and not just the C string

It's definitely going up.
And i mean dramatically.
I'm checking it with a tuner.
It's not a temperature thing because it's too much of a difference.
There must be something I'm missing.
I'm an experienced guitarist and I know my onions quite well, but this is not something I've ever seen before.
Maybe the string is stretching and getting thinner?
But then the note would be going down as the string stretches.
I don't get it.
I would change the strings, but it's not my uke.

I have a couple of sopranos that this happens too also, but like Daniel, it applies to all the tuners and not just the C...it happens usually after I've had the uke tuned up to D instead of re-entrant C tuning...after the strings have settled at that higher note for awhile they seem to resist being dropped back to C and keep sneaking back up... :)

This is usually caused by a sticky slot in the nut.
When you tune up a string if the string binds in the nut the pitch does not change.
While strumming the string vibration causes the string to slide and go sharp.
Try this, tune the string UP to pitch, then press on the string between the tuner and nut, if it goes sharp that is the issue.
You can try putting some lube on the nut (pencil lead dust works great) or widen the slot a bit so the string slides.
Too wide and you are going to buzz.