vintage koa uke

garyg

Reaction score
Okay, I know that so many of you are reluctant to give advice and share opinions but I thought I'd ask a question anyway. I'm a player not a collector and I've spent the last nine months trying out various soprano ukes, modern and vintage. I have to say that my favorite vintage ukes are those from the 20's or earlier, especially my Martins. The only vintage Koa uke that I have is an early 70's Kamaka and I'm wondering about peoples opinions regarding affordable koa ukes from the 20's-30's. I'm watching for Martin K series ukes but to say they're pricey is an understatement. So what opinions do you have on the best value koa uke from the early part of the last century. BTW, being a beginner I'm most interested in ukes that have neck shapes most similar to my Martins, which tend to be a bit wider than many other ukes. I find that my playing suffers when I switch among ukes with different neck shapes. mahalo, g2

Since you are a player rather than a collector, sound and feel are everything, i have the same ideal, my only suggestion is play it before you buy it. I have played several old/vintage Kamaka and Martin sopranos, and the sound quality just isn't there for me. I was disappointed in that reality, and ended up ordering a new Kamaka soprano, and I love it

You know I'm a Martin fan like you. I have both mahogany and koa Martins and they don't sound much different from one another. The price difference has mostly to do with rarity (Martin made many more mahogany ukuleles than they made koa ones) and appearance (some people prefer the look of koa).

The vintage Hawaiian ukuleles (exclusive of Kamakas and the ones bu other makers for which you would pay in extremities anyway)are kind of "hit and miss," for me. Generally, they are a challenge to play above the 5th fret. While they are typically loud, they can also be irritatingly boxy sounding.