New Concert Surf Flea

scason

Reaction score
New Concert Surf Flea (pic added)

Got my Surf flea Monday and have been playing it exclusively. The plastic fretboard still feels weird to me, like it plays too fast for me almost. Does that make sense? I also have the stock friction tuners which I don't seem to have a problem with. I can tune it quickly. However it does seem to go out of tune frequently, the C string being the biggest culprit. I'm hoping this will settle after a full week of playing being this is a brand new baby. This is a nice instrument. I'm a total newbie but I can see myself saving up for a tenor fluke. You guys are not joking about UAS! I think a support group may be in order. :p

Sorry about that Rook...here is a pic.

surf.jpg

Last edited:
Nice! I've got the Concert Surf Fluke, which is currently my primary uke, and the first one I bought. I actually prefer the look of the Flea model with that design. It actually looks like it's a squat little surfboard instead of just a portion of a surfboard like the Fluke. Good times!

Congrats on your new flea! I''ve heard great things about them which is why I ordered a tenor flea on Monday!
I'm betting the tuning issues are just due to the newness of the strings. But I'm a bit nervous about the friction tuners myself.
These will be my first.

I'm betting on the newness of the strings too. I don't see what the gripe is about friction tuners. These are my first and I was able to just tune it. I did follow the "pinch don't twist" advice on the board and it works. Hope you like you Fluke. I think you will.

Uh, this is the support group. We all enable one another, quite well.
Welcome to the disease, you'll love it!

I click on these posts immediately to see a pic of the Uke

:(

The first time I used friction tuners I turned as I normally would and wondered why I was several notes out.