What percentage of new ukes come with preinstalled pickups?

mschway

Reaction score
So I was having this discussion with with my local repair luthier (a real craftsman who's been at it for 30 years and gets instruments sent to him from thousands of miles away). He sees more guitars than any thing else, and was pretty surprised that electronics are so common on new ukes.

So here's a question to the vendors out there (and anybody else :)) What percentage of new mid-high end ukulele come with preinstalled pickups?

I'm relatively new to the ukulele world, so this trend seems a little strange to this dyed-in-the-wool folkie who's always preferred microphones over pickups, but when I purchased my new Kamaka on Kauai, the store owner seemed a little surprised that I didn't want a pickup. (Granted, the store has a bit of a rep for high pressure sales, and I'm sure he wanted a bigger sale), but even in the local stores on the mainland, there are LOTS of ukes with pickups these days

I can see the need for some sort of reinforcement for performances because ukes seem to respond better with a light touch (whereas my old Gibson LG2 begs to be abused), but are pickups any better than a mic?

Mahalo

Probably someone with experience selling ukuleles could answer the "what percentage" question. Other than that, from what I've read, some people ("purists") would only mic a uke, because plugging in colors the sound in an un-ukelike manner. Other people ("impurists"), want to be able to move around (and not sit), and maybe have more control of the sound from where they stand. As for me, I'm impure.