Best book or video source for beginning strumming technique?

Eyeguy

Reaction score
Not necessarily interested in learning 8 gazillion different strum variations right now, as I am just learning to play uke. Rather, I would like to learn a few simple patterns and techniques for strumming per se, as in what finger(s) to use, etc.

why are you bothered about strumming techniques, play a song of your choice and once you pick up the rhythm of the piece the strum will come naturally, concentrate on other aspects of playing like chord progressions and changing chords smoothly, believe me strum patterns will fall into place like magic the longer you practice

There's this dude Ukulele Mike who has a lot of videos on YouTube and explains basic strum patterns really well. Just google him. He is also like your really nice uncle that you're excited to see on Thanksgiving and always gave you a stick of Juicy Fruit when you were a kid.

There's this dude Ukulele Mike who has a lot of videos on YouTube and explains basic strum patterns really well. Just google him. He is also like your really nice uncle that you're excited to see on Thanksgiving and always gave you a stick of Juicy Fruit when you were a kid.

But, not the kind of uncle that would peer under your skirt when you're bending to get your uke out of its case.

But, not the kind of uncle that would peer under your skirt when you're bending to get your uke out of its case.

I used to hate it when my uncle did that.

Almost as much as I hated having wear that damn skirt...

JJ

Ralph Shaw's Essential Strums for Ukulele is a very good DVD introduction to basic through intermediate strums.