My dilemma: thumb pick or finger pick?

Bob-in-Alberta

Reaction score
I'm really new at this and I'm trying to get the hang of finger picking but it all sounds so much better when I just pick with my thumb. When I'm finger picking my fingers get all tangled up and confused and I'm concentrating so hard on which finger goes to which string and it all turns into a big mess. Meanwhile, if I just use my thumb you can even tell what song I'm trying to play. So here is a question for the experienced players on this forum: Is finger picking the best way to go? I'm willing to invest some time and keep plugging away but it sure sounds better at the moment if I just use my thumb to pick the strings.

I'm by no means experienced but keep at it with the fingers, it really does get better!!! You can practice with just the right hand -- not trying to play songs -- just concentrate on where your right hand fingers are, and be sure to go slow at first.

My fingers did the same thing, and it was very frustrating, but one day it was better. Not great, yet, but one step at a time.

Last edited:
Some of the better uke players I've seen seem to use only their thumb, or just their thumb and index finger, and they sound great!

When all is said and done, take any advice you get from here, teachers, websites, videos, etc and consider them with all the importance they deserve (meaning very little), and go with the way that feels best for you. It may not be technically correct, but if you are comfy and can play well with just your thumb, then that's the best way to do it.

For the most flexibility, I'd say continue to persevere with both. Most standard picking forms tend to use the thumb for the bass notes and one, two, three or even four fingers for the rest.

Personally, my picking is merely functional, but can't imagine picking without using my thumb for parts.