Incorrect use of the word "cover"

Jnobianchi

Reaction score
It just occurred to me - and maybe I'm being a stickler here, but I am an editor as part of my job - that we aren't always using the word 'cover' correctly.

If you record or perform a song originally performed by another artist and associated with that artist, you're doing a cover. If you record or perform a song that wasn't associated with another artist, than you aren't doing a cover.

For example, if I play "Fields of Barley" by Sting or "F*** You" by Cee Lo Green - those are covers (they probably won't be very good ones, but you get the idea). If I sing "All of Me" or "As Time Goes By" - which are "standards" not originating with a particular performer - or something like "Happy Birthday", I shouldn't say I'm doing a cover of those songs.

And yet, we all do this. I actually saw someone post somewhere that they were doing a cover of "Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star". That just ain't right. :)

I hope you'll all indulge me, as this has been bothering me for sometime. Anyway, back to actual work...

I agree with you, John. I don't think it bothers me too much though. But it's right up there with calling the top string "the bottom string", and calling chords "tabs".

Last edited:
I agree with you, John. I don't think it bothers me too much though. But it's right up there with calling the top string "the bottom string", and calling chords "tabs".

That last one annoys the leaping bejabbers out of me! And...it's becoming more and more common on the old interwebs, too.

Well, what should we call 'em then Jno? :) Most of the songs on this site are covers and labeling them as such is sort of redundant. Just my 2 cents. Instead, maybe just mark a song as Original or just not at all...

Last edited: