Stubby fingers need more room

crstrode

Reaction score
I'm new to the Uke and have a Kala Soprano. I'm thinking about getting a larger one and have been eyeing the Concert. Should I get a concert, or a tenor? I'm hoping there will be a bit more room on the fretboard for those chords that take three of my stubby fingers in the same place (e.g. that darned "D", or the dreaded "E").

With only a couple of months on the job I do believe the music is starting to emerge! :)

Last edited:
I have one of each size. There is no substitution for hands-on. Get yourself to a music store and play some. The widest neck I know of is the Oscar Smidt OU6W tenor, its like a guitar but with 4 strings.

John King had stubby fingers...
Anyway, I have a OS tenor, and the neck is TOO wide for me!

My first ukulele was a 1950s Harmony soprano my father-in-law gave me. Much too cramped for my (also short fat) fingers. So I bought a tenor. Then another tenor, then another, then a couple-three concert sized, and back to sopranos, and another tenor.

Playing the larger sizes was very good for my fingering and technique, and as I started playing the banjo ukes (soprano size), I was feeling more comfortable. When I got the Ohana Vita Uke, which is a soprano scale neck on a concert size body, I started playing it much more often, understanding a bit more about the pressure I use on the soprano strings, vs. the tenor and concert strings.

While my Tenor Sceptre is my VERY favorite uke, the Ohana Vita Uke has become the daily pick-it-up-and-strum while at the computer uke - and my fingers don't cramp up like they used to.

So my advice is simple: keep the soprano, but get a tenor. Get comfortable on the tenor, but pick up the soprano every 3-4 days and use it. After a few months, if you don't find yourself getting very comfortable on both, then decide which one is best for you.

Good luck!

-Kurt​

Gotta agree with scason. Hitting a music shop is best to try the different sizes.