Kiwaya Master Series Koa Tenor Ukulele

coolkayaker1

Reaction score
I got a Kiwaya Master Koa tenor ukulele #908. This after owning a Kiwaya soprano Thinline Eco that I adore and play every night across my chest in bed (until my wife, Cathy, tells me to put it up or sleep on the couch).

I bought the ukulele from Elderly Music, and it’s a satin finish all flame pattern Hawaiian koa.

I believe these Master Series Kiwayas are made in Nagano, Japan for Kiwaya by award-winning master luthier Shinji Takahashi of T’s Guitars (as featured on Honey and Bosko here): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fqMKfVcmb8

Kiwaya has now finished the Master Series, and no more are being made except as customs.

It does have Grotoh Deluxe Friction tuners, which are lovely. It stays in tune extremely well, even at the higher string tension of a tenor.

The total weight of this tenor ukulele is 17.85 ounces. I'll post photos and a video, as I know there are Kiwaya fans out there.

Cheers, to those with interest in Kiwaya brand. CK1

Last edited:
I for one want to sincerely thank you. Had I spotted this before you took it out of circulation I would have been sorely tempted. That said, I'll be interested to hear your verdict on it. I may well be taking a trip to Japan this year, and will keep an eye on the local uke scene if I do.

Photos Tuners: Grotoh Deluxe

KIwaya Master 051.jpgKIwaya Master 054.jpgKIwaya Master 055.jpgKIwaya Master 056.jpg

I post these photo sets because there is a paucity of online information about anything Kiwaya. For those in the market for this brand, it's helpful to see pictures. I know that the UU search will likely turn up other Kiwaya shoppers, and hopefully these will help. Of course, this particular one is based on the Martin 3M design (did they make that one in a tenor?), and all Kiwaya upper end ukuleles are with Martin styling. So, these photos are pretty representative.