I REALLY want to know how to do this!

BrittanyClark

Reaction score
Okay. I have a few questions, I suppose. I'd like to know how to do overlapping video/audio, like Julia Nunes, for example, in her video for "Accidentally in Love." What FREE, and safe? software will let me edit and overlap, like so? I'd like to sing, do backups, and also play my melodica/xylophone/auxiliary percussion all in one video. I'm interested in knowing how.

Also, how do I record my audio with a camera, and record with a microphone to get them to match up? I'm new to this stuff-- if I knew how I'd probably be posting videos, haha!

I'm so sorry if this is vague. I don't know how to word my questions very well sometimes, especially things I don't know a CLUE about! :(

I think Julia (in her newer youtubecovers, for example "Baby, Bierer + Supremes)) record the different sound tracks and mixed them together. (wich can be done for example in audacite: audacity, but there are a lot of free software tools to do this).
Then shoot different shots with a video camera and mixes the different camera shots and soundtrack in one video. (wich can be done with for example Microsoft Movie maker, or with other free video editing software)

Julia was doing her early stuff with a Mac, and the built-in camera. I think she used GarageBand.

But, as someone who never subscribed to the Cult of Jobs, I have never used the stuff.

I'm looking to buy Adobe Premiere Elements, and see if I can do something similar with a/r/e/a/l/c/o/m/p/u/t/e/r a Windows machine.

-Kurt​

Well, this was disappointing, especially since I don't have a mac!

I have done some research on this. Some guy named Rehan has free patches you can download for movie maker old versions, and if you have movie maker 6.0 you can download a free trial of a patch that lets you do split screen. If you have windows vista or window 7.0 you have movie maker 6.0 or higher.