Crack repair advice

gyosh

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have an unfinished uke that has a surface crack from the base almost to the bridge. It doesn't seem to go all the way through the wood and it doesn't close up any, with moderate pressure on each side of the crack. I'm wondering if I can go ahead and finish the uke with Tru Oil and take care of the crack sometime in the future or should this be addressed before I apply oil?

Not sure if this information will help, but before I sanded that area, the wood was kind of "wash board" like in that section.

Thank you for your help,

-Gary

uke crack.jpguke crack close up.jpg

Last edited:
I'm no expert but I would fix the crack first. The oil might stop your glue from bonding correctly.

Without any question at all. Fix the crack first!

If you get oil in it, you'll never fix it without cutting out a sliver and replacing a piece of the top. As it stands right now, you may have to slip a sliver of wood into the crack even now, but it'll still be easier without finish on it.

I'd be using hide glue for a repair like that. PVA's are going to work, but will potentially make a lot more work of clean up. Hide glue is invisible under finish. PVA's will show up like you wouldn't believe if you don't get it cleaned up properly.

Without any question at all. Fix the crack first!

If you get oil in it, you'll never fix it without cutting out a sliver and replacing a piece of the top. As it stands right now, you may have to slip a sliver of wood into the crack even now, but it'll still be easier without finish on it.

I'd be using hide glue for a repair like that. PVA's are going to work, but will potentially make a lot more work of clean up. Hide glue is invisible under finish. PVA's will show up like you wouldn't believe if you don't get it cleaned up properly.