Happy as a clam...

trippntx

Reaction score
I just finished practicing a half hour or so and I couldn't be happier. I've owned my Kala Solid Acacia Tenor (KA-ASAC-T) for almost three weeks now and the more I play it the more impressed with it I become.

Yes it's true I'm still a newb, and yes it's true I am longing to own something really nice (KoAloha Tenor), but I have to say that dollar for dollar this Kala is really one incredible little uke. Beautiful woodgrain, cool slotted headstock, very light, great sound with plenty of volume and warmth, and best of all it didn't cost much ($300 OTD).

I'd buy one again in a heartbeat and strongly recommend it to any newb or seasoned uker looking for a great tenor at a great price. No matter where my playing future takes me or how many KoAlohas or Kamakas I eventually adopt (wishful thinking), this Kala tenor is with me to stay.

Now off my soapbox. :)

Haha, soapbox is fine! I think a lot of people fall in love with their first really playable uke.

Congrats on your new Kala uke, any pictures...believe me the K brands rock.. koaloha has a nice bright tone unlike any other in comparison....I got a friend in San Antonio..
towers park lane....to be exact...

My first tenor (and second ukulele overall) is a Kala solid acacia tenor, purchased from, and set up by, none other than MGM. I've moved on to higher end tenors (Kamaka, with a Mya-Moe on the way), but I still play my solid acacia tenor and I still have soft spot for it in my heart. If I hadn't found an ukulele that was both very affordable and very playable, I might not have stuck with the instrument. Happy strumming!

P.S. Yeah -- pics, please. Each Kala solid acacia tenor has a different gran pattern, and people here love to see them all. :)

Congrats! I really enjoy my Kala solid mahogany concert uke, too. I have a lot of fun with it, and I love the tone.