PDA

View Full Version : Is the action too low? Changed strings and now the uke is deadlined.

mrkuslives
03-22-2012, 06:27 AM
(bottom line up front: changed strings, first three frets sound the same, original strings dont fix the problem)

I'm a brass musician by study and bought a makala mk-s to play around with. After doing some video watching and article reading I tried putting on aquila soprano strings. Strings go on fine and open strings are tuned properly.

Problem is, the first three frets all play the same pitch, the second fret even lowers the pitch a half step. I took off an aquila string and replaced it with the original, but the same thing happens.

There was no damage to the bridge or the nut. The strings appear to be resting much higher off the fretboard the further down the neck they go, if that helps.

benjoeuke
03-22-2012, 06:33 AM
when u first changed the strings, did u take them all off at the same time or just replace and tune each string one at a time?

SailingUke
03-22-2012, 07:14 AM
sounds like something is wrong.
Did the saddle fall out of the bridge?
I have seen new players not notice the saddle missing from the bridge.
It is the little white piece that goes in the slot on the bridge.
Are your strings tuned to pitch? The C is middle C.

benjoeuke
03-22-2012, 07:37 AM
If the saddle fell out it would probably make the action lower but I was wondering if it got loose and raised up a bit, the string tension can hold it there when it binds in the slot.
Also, wondering if the strings are a different gauge, fatter and sitting on top of the nut. This can make the 1st fret play way sharp as you push down on the string it bends, then on 2nd fret the string doesnt bend as much and can actually match the pitch of the 1st fret, crazy but true.

mrkuslives
03-22-2012, 10:35 AM
I took off all the strings at once.

The saddle did not fall off.

Strings tune properly in their open positions.