Discriminating player in need of a discriminating first uke.

fscott

Reaction score
I've spent quite some time listening to uke's on the web, but I don't have the luxury of playing anything good in my area. So I need some advice.

First, I am an accomplished fingerstyle guitarist, both chet atkins style on steel string, as well as a classical guitarist. I also play a fine Gibson A5L mandolin that I've owned for 15 years. My current acoustic is a 1989 Martin D42 custom with brazilian rosewood and Engelmann top. I've owned countless instruments over the years and end it selling most due to not meeting my requirements.

I am not looking to start at the beginner level of ukes. I know I like them and I see the potential so I'm ready to purchase one that will sit along side my others. I enjoy playing solo.

Both of my main instruments possess similar qualities, and I would like to find a uke that possess these qualities also. They are:

1) Sensitive and responsive without sounding scratchy, or bright. Sometimes called a dry woody tone, but with sustain.
2) A tone that seems to come from the "gut" of the instrument rather than a loud, open, tubby sound.
3) A focused tone, ala higher end Ramirez classical guitars.
4) Good resonance all the way up the fretboard.
5) Growl (if you don't know that that means, then I can't explain it.)
6) Poppy tone. (Again, sorry I can't explain it).

Every stringed instrument is capable of these qualities, whether it be a cello or a banjo. Unfortunately I haven't quite heard these qualities via the internet, probably due to the internets. Some instruments have stood out to me but then again it's probably due to the internets. Sometime the same instrument will sound great, but then it will sound bad on the next example. So where do I start in the uke world?