Gear tuners

rreffner

Reaction score
Aloha. This is my first post. I have a 25 year old Kamaka tenor which has the original tuners (friction) and I am thinking about geared tuners, similar to what I have on my guitar.

Any comments, tips, suggestions?

Mahalo

Welcome To UU. Hope you enjoy and learn. I'm pretty sure you'll be getting responses in favor of both the Geared and Friction Tuner. It seems to just really fall under prefrence.

I have geared tuners on my Baritone Ukulele (Tuned gCEA) and of course friction tuners on my Fluke. Personally, I really like the Geared Tuners. I find it easier to fine tune my Uke. I usually spend more time tuning and untuning (Is that even a word?) my Fluke compared to my Baritone. I hope that helps a little. I'm just learning myself.

Last edited:
There are compelling arguments in favor of either style of tuners. Friction tuners give a more traditional, dignified appearance to your ukulele in some peoples opinions, but they have a tendency to slip and detune easily. Geared tuners can look kind of goofy on a ukulele, sort of like the ukulele has big ears (again- that is a personal opinion of some. I personally prefer the appearance of geared tuners because I think they make the instrument look more complicated to play than it really is, which is a plus.) Geared tuners are also generally better for tuning, because they tune more accurately and then stay in tune longer. All-in-all, it's entirely a matter of personal preferrence.

I highly prefer geared tuners over mechanical friction tuners. If you get them for your uke, make sure they aren't too heavy and that the string posts aren't too high. If they're too heavy, your uke will feel unbalanced and peghead heavy. If the string posts are too high, you can run into the problem of the strings not making good contact in the nut slots.