Got my Compass Rose over the weekend

byjimini

Reaction score
I guess this is my 'dream uke', as I first saw a walnut one a few months after I started playing, and maple was the wood of the uke my parents bought me, that I started playing out and about with.

IMG_1887.jpg IMG_1886.jpg IMG_1885.jpg IMG_1884.jpg IMG_1883.jpg

It's absolutely gorgeous, and I've used it at a gig on Saturday night and at a folk night yesterday, lots of great comments about it. It's definitely got a different sound, much more bass-orientated than you'd normally associate with the uke. Since I've had my 8-String Kamaka I've appreciated the extra bass strings, so the 'Rose is a welcome addition.

The problem? I ordered it with a pickup, which was never fitted. The customs form even says "ukulele with pickup" on it, so a bit miffed about why it never got fitted. I'm sure they'll sort it out for me though, they've been excellent from the start.

Last edited:
Wow, that's hot! Congrats on the new baby.

Fantasic uke, even without the pick-up. The flame maple looks great with the dark binding and subtle rope purfling.

Congratulations. Looking forward to a sound sample soon.

Byjiimii!!!! Man that is the prettiest Compass Rose I've ever seen and one of the prettiest ukes I've ever seen fullstop. Don't know what else to say, but congratulations mate. :)

Byjiimii!!!! Man that is the prettiest Compass Rose I've ever seen and one of the prettiest ukes I've ever seen fullstop. Don't know what else to say, but congratulations mate. :)
Congrats byjimini,
wow it looks awesome...Congratulations and a fine ukulele family and selection you got there...thank you for sharing...happy strummings...

@Eugene...I want that too...ha ha easy now...LOL nah I am happy with Oscar Schmidts and Rogue...seems to me when you get the technique down, any uke can be fun...eh

Last edited:
::jealous:: :drool: