Trouble with Barre/movable chords

chappyware

Reaction score
What's the secret? When I barre a chord, at least one string sounds dead/muted. Sure, sometimes a fretting finger touches the next string but sometimes just barring produces a dead string--usually E or A.

I'm a beginner so be kind but please give me a few pointers. I don't want to develop bad habits at the outstart. I'm using a tenor tuned to low G

Thank you all.

Hi there, I've only been playing for a couple of months so I hope these are not bad habits I'm going to pass on.

Aside from practice, try working using the hand stretching/strengthening techniques that we have on the Uke Minutes. At the same time try working on the position of your thumb. I found a nice comfortable position that allowed me to put enough pressure on the strings to prevent those "Dead strings" you were talking about.

I hope that helps. One newbie to another.

Oh and Deach might just be on to something when he said "practice" :D

Who is this mysterious stranger they all call Deach?:bowdown:

Yep, barre chords are tough. And you will just have to practice to get them right.

One thing you should be careful about though, is that some begginners, in an effort to put more pressure, use their middle finger to push on the index finger. You lose a lot of flexibility like that. So might as well start right. Make sure your hand position is straight, with the finger joints facing straight 180 degrees from the fretboard.

I set my self free from regular chords to Barre chords by barring the C chord. it was the easiest for me to bar and it gave me freedom to explore the fretboard.

Barring the C and applying to theory really boosts your ability to vary your playing. For example instead of playing the regular F chord, Barre at the 5th fret and play a C chord shape up there. It's another fingering for the C chord. See what I'm saying?

I agree with Deach - practice, practice, practice.