Colorado vs. Ukulele

Gadzukes!

Reaction score
I live in Colorado, and have been fighting quite a battle trying to keep my ukes humidified. The air is incredible dry (sometimes as low as 10%), and we just wrapped up our driest and warmest month on record, with highs in the 80s in March with 0.000" of rain. March is usually our snowiest month. Ugh.

I have all my ukes in hard cases with humidifiers. The Kamaka has two humidifiers in the case and the humidity still drops to 30% at times, probably because the original hard case is rather flimsy. The humidifiers need refilling weekly. I'm about ready to seal them all up in plastic bags. Why does no one make an airtight ukulele case?

I have a house humidifier, but it merely laughed when asked to keep up, and my water bill agreed it was just a waste of time and money.

I expect we'll have water rationing this summer. Oh, how I miss Hawaii. :)

Last edited:
Last edited:
Hey Gadzukes!, I'm in Denver and I feel ya. I'm new to the uke and this forum, but a guitar player of 16 years, and I've found that two Oasis humidifiers in all my guitar cases (one in the sound hole and one near the headstocks, keeps my guitars at 40-45 year round. So with both my ukes I'm just using one Oasis in the sound hole and seeing how it affects the instrument, if I need two I'll do it. They are super easy to use, and are sealed (no worries about water leakage) and I've been using them since I moved to Colorado (2001) with no issues on any of my instruments. Elderly instruments has some of the cheapest prices on them that I've seen, give em a look.