Some cocobolo guidance!

sadlad87

Reaction score
I am rather new to the building scene and am in the process of building a few tenors using cocobolo. I realize that it is suggested to remove the oils with acetone before gluing the joints. What about the bending of the sides? I am using a heat blanket, within a sandwich of steel (kind of a standard approach). Should I rub the oils out with acetone before bending, spray with water, use foil, heat at a certain level, etc...?

I would appreciate the guidance. I have some pretty nice looking sets and wouldn't want to crack them in the process.

Best
Steve

The best advice I can give you is to make sure you have plenty of sanding belts on hand! Use the coarsest grit you can get away with and take it easy.
Cocobolo bends well. No need to treat it in any way before bending. The heat will bring the oils to the surface anyway and turn it all kinds of weird colors. Wipe any surface that will need to be glued immediately before gluing, don't wait 10 minutes. Wipe until there's no color on your rag. Do the same thing before applying any finish. Cocobolo is a beautiful wood but it's not my favorite to work with. Good luck.

Last edited:
I find that 120 is about as coarse as I can sand Cocobolo, beyond that the belts clog very quickly. I work with a lot of Cocobolo. Did not have any problem with reactions at first, but after a few years working with it often, started getting a rash that would last sometimes a week or more. Different Cocobolos are better or worse for this. Now I am very careful about dust from Cocobolo, as well as any wood, and generally shower/ change clothes immediately after being exposed to Coco dust. No problems anymore.

Acetone before gluing, as well as breaking any glaze that might be left from the machining process. Also Acetone before finishing. Cocobolo does not play friendly with all finishes...