PDA

View Full Version : Got my Mainland Cedar Pineapple Today

Paul December
04-12-2012, 01:08 PM
...well, I actually got it yesterday, but didn't have a chance to play it until today. Since I'm a teacher, I'll make my observations in a grade format:

Sound = B
The brighter notes are quite nice, except for the open A string that is a bit "plunky". I'm hoping this will improve as the Aquila strings stretch. I do wish it had a bit deeper tone, possibly I'll just have to change the strings entirely. Suggestions?

Neck = B
Narrower than I expected, but not a problem for me. Fret ends do not stick out, but many feel sharp. Shouldn't be a big problem to fix up.

Fit & Finish = B-
The stain is uneven in some small spots, the rope binding is a bit messy in some parts, as is the glue where the fretboard meets the body. OTOH the the gloss finish is very even over the entire uke.

Overall Grade at this point = B , with the potential of moving up if I sort out the string issue.

mds725
04-12-2012, 01:17 PM
Congratulations on your new ukulele! I've heard that pineapples sound a little different than other ukuleles because of the body shape. I'm actually going to build a tenor scale pineapple ukulele from a kit in a class given by Rick Turner. I decided to take the class in part because I wanted a pineapple uke.

Gwynedd
04-12-2012, 01:18 PM
Get some advice on emery paper or whatever they use to smooth frets on the edges. Mine were a tad sharp but not bad on my Mahogany tenor.

The strings--try South Coast. Aquilas are ok, but I prefer South Coast.

I'm surprised the purfling is sloppy. Mine is practically perfect.

Paul December
04-12-2012, 01:23 PM
Get some advice on emery paper or whatever they use to smooth frets on the edges. Mine were a tad sharp but not bad on my Mahogany tenor.

The strings--try South Coast. Aquilas are ok, but I prefer South Coast.

I'm surprised the purfling is sloppy. Mine is practically perfect.