Low A tenor tuning

tonet

Reaction score
Hello,

Anyone has a Low A tuning on a tenor? Could you send me a mp3 or a link to check the sound, please?

Thanks a lot

Do you mean "ADF#B" ?
I recently started playing ukulele with a Tenor tuned "ADF#A" using non-wound SouthCoast strings.
Unfortunately the instrument is on it's way back to the store for an exchange so I can't post a sample.
I will say, however, that the 4th string was a bit boomy just like a low G but other strings were very bright.
It was nice to have the low 4th when picking but I avoided it when strumming... too much of a contrast.
This was on an inexpensive Makala MK-T which is a ply top so a solid top may sound different.

Yes I meant ADF#B. I found a James Hill video which I think that he plays in Low A tuning. Isn't it?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u778gSi94N4

I am ckecking this tuning right now and I feel the low A string less boomy than the low G.

Last edited:
I am ckecking this tuning right now and I feel the low A string less boomy than the low G.

The disparity in sound between strings that I experienced was possibly because my ukulele was a low end instrument.

Tonet,

I use Southcoast linear strings in ADF#B on my Lichty tenor. I think they are excellent.

I have also used Southcoast flat wound liners and like them very much for a slightly more "guitarish" sound.

I will try to upload a sound file in the D tuning sometime today.

I have a baritone in that tuning and it works very well on that longer scale, brightens up the bari a lot.

It is a good tuning for the people like me who want to have a low 4th tuning still keeping the ukulele sweet sound. Do you know the strings' gauge of Southcoast linear strings?

D Tuning on tenor uke

Here's a short sound file for D tuning on my Lichty. The clarity and openness of this tuning is really remarkable. The only C tuning I will use now is with Southcoast flat wound linears.

http://www.box.com/s/62477073d01fc5c0bbe6