What causes this?

deach

Reaction score
A brand new uke was delivered in an un-damaged box. When the box was opened....

338822223.jpg

338822221.jpg

What could have caused this?

Don't know for sure, but I think a box dropped from a height that lands flat square on it's end could do that with no damage visible on the box. A nasty bumpy ride cross country stacked head down could also. I'd be rethinking the shipper more than the wood, but that's just me too. :rolleyes:

if it was sent airmail, and the strings werent loosened, i think i read something before about pressure at altitude and temps while in the air can cause a great amount of stress on the neck.

but its not like im a rocket scientist or anything so my word is worth about as much as poo.

If my eyes are not deceiving me the neck joint at the headstock is a 'finger joint' rather like the one Bob Taylor uses. I cannot see how this joint could be strong but hey, I build ukuleles, I am not a wood engineer (like Bob ;) )If the box was undamaged it could only be that the instrument was faulty and this occured in transit inside the box... . Anyway - send it back.

omgoodness... that is so strange. Isn't it usually dings on the uke or cracks? I've never seen that happen but I guess it does. I hope my uke doesn't do that. its coming from Hawaii to Winnipeg. Eeeks :confused: now I'm really scared its extremely hot there and here in Winnipeg its on the brink of snowing....

Maybe it was broken beforehand and boxed like that so the shipping insurance would pay for it.

That would be so messed up, but it's an idea nonetheless.

Maybe it was broken beforehand and boxed like that so the shipping insurance would pay for it.

I've bought several ukes from this builder and I can assure, that is not the case.