Help! What's the best "advanced" tenor uke?

dirk.li

Reaction score
Aachen, Germany (As exciting as an empty parking-l
Hey guys,
I've been playing the uke for 3 years now and I've found out that I like tenor scale instruments best. I already own some tenor models in the mid price range (Fluke, Ohana TK50-G, Kala Color BLK, etc.) but I don't have an advanced instrument. In Germany it's difficult (if not impossible) to find such instruments to test-play. So I'll have to use mail order.

I've read some reviews, listened to some sound samples and still I don't know which instrument to decide on. Or maybe it's wiser to have a ukulele build by a luthier?? What do you think? The price shouldn't exceed $1,500 (and yes, I will have to save for this! :D )

So, the ukes I'd like to hear your opinions on are:
(If you have other, similar suggestions, please let me know!)

- COLLINGS UT-2 MAHOGANY (what's the difference towards the UT-1 model?)
(Link: http://elderly.com/new_instruments/names/collings-ut-2-mahogany-tenor-ukulele-and-case--UT2-MAH.htm )

- MARTIN 2K TENOR UKE, KOA STYLE 2
(Link: http://elderly.com/new_instruments/names/martin-2k-tenor-uke-koa-style-2-ukulele-and-gigbag--2KTENUKE.htm )

- KAMAKA HF-3
(Link: http://elderly.com/new_instruments/names/kamaka-hf-3-tenor-ukulele-with-case--HF3.htm )

- KANILE'A K-1
(Link: http://elderly.com/new_instruments/names/kanile%27a-k-1-tenor-ukulele-gloss-finish-and-case--K1T.htm)

Thanks for your help!

With all due respect, Dirk, isn't this a little like asking, "I really like beaches. I've found I'm a beach guy. What is the best beach for a guy like me: Waikiki, Miami Beach, Myrtle Beach or Huntington Beach?"

If you are more specific, it may help... but as it is, you've basically asked for a vote of what tenors each of us plays.

You have done the reading, read the reviews, heard the sound samples, you say, so you honestly, can probably answer the question better than any of us. We should be asking you. LOL