strange affliction

Timbuck

Reaction score
About a week ago i started to get tingling in my left pinky....since then my left hand has been progressivly getting weaker :confused:..i found that i couldn't hold down some chords on my uke properly..and now today i'm trying to string up my latest soprano and i cant find the strength in my left hand to tighten up the tuning pegs :mad: and i'm having great difficulty tying knots in the string ends.
has anyone else had symptoms like this?

I am no doctor, but did you have some symptoms building up to this. Carpul tunnel comes to my mind, or some other type of nerve damage. Sounds to me that it is time for a trip to the doctor's. Good luck and don't force it or over do it, you don't want to further injure yourself.

Having a doctor check it out would be prudent. It sounds like you might have something pressing on a netve. Neurological issues should be checked out.

In the meantime, you should also think about any recent changes in activities/tools, etc. Did you change sleep positions? Get new pillows?

My husband had a similar experience to yours, over the course of a couple of months after we got married. It turned out that his wedding ring needed to be resized up. The numbness and loss of strength went away.

I have a "tricky" shoulder from a long-ago repetitive stress injury. A bad pillow configuration at night has brought on the symptoms you've described.

Yes, and too much time in the shop was the cause. Someone mentioned to me about sleeping with curled up hands. Being conscious of making sure they were in an open position at night, like maybe under a pillow, that helped in about 2 weeks time. Not too many issues anymore, except after excessively heavy projects..