Restringing from a high G to low G

Jimfkft

Reaction score
I'm a uke newbie. I bought a Kala tenor uke about a year ago, and I imagine it's ready for new strings. The wound third string shows signs of wear at the frets. I think I want to ditch the high G fourth string in favor of a low G. What impact if any would this have on the nut slot? Can it accommodate the new string without refiling?
The Kala was strung with GHS strings. Any recommendations about a brand and supplier? Thanks.

I went with Southcoast Strings and like them a lot; they have a 3&4th wound string. If the 4th is wound, you normally won't have to file the nut slot. With unwound(flurocarbons) there is a greater chance you would.

Many also like the Worth clears. I use them on my Mya Moe with good results.

The # for the low g round string set is:G650 Linear String Set in 5ths. It may take awhille to get used to a new string makers sound. I've tried the Guadalupe and Aquilas on my Griffin tenor. It's really interesting how much a string changes the sound of a uke.

I bought a set of Fremont Blacklines a member suggested for my resonator. Made a big difference. Will be interested in your opinion on how they sound.

Hey saw this thread and it caught my attention. I'm thinking of getting a uke but still debating a few things before I can decide which one, but as I read up about it I came across this low or high G on ukehunt and they said with strings youw ant to check if yours is high or low g...what does this mean? From what I read in your post I'm guessing they are of different sizes but what's the difference? can you chose which you have and if so why have one over the other? I'm asking since I've seen in a few online shops that you can ask for specifications and was wondering if this is something I need to think about.

Usually it's better to start a new thread for a new topic, but anyway.....