What is intonation???

freedive135

Reaction score
The title says it all....

I am still kinda new to this fretted string thing and not sure what is ment by "My Intonation is off" and how do you go about fixing it????

also "Dressing Frets" as in shorts skirts and high heels?????

The title says it all....

I am still kinda new to this fretted string thing and not sure what is ment by "My Intonation is off" and how do you go about fixing it????

intonation is basically just how "on-the-dot" every note is when it is played on each fret. at first, this may be hard to hear with your own ears (hell, after 20+ years of music experience i still have trouble with it). but if you were to take a multi-note chromatic tuner, and play each string at each fret, the needle should (in theory) be right at the 440Hz mark for every note played. fret placement and saddle/bridge placement are usually the deciding factors when it comes to good intonation.

but being that ukuleles are nylon stringed instruments, unless you play each note EXACTLY the same regardless of what finger you use, just the extra stretching from fretting the string can change how accurate the intonation is. so it may sound great when you play it, but when i play the exact same instrument, it may be off.

so if you are checking your intonation with a chromatic tuner, 3-4 points of deviation from the center (for me) is acceptable. for others, its not, but like i said, its impossible to make it exact. the nature how how notes are played on stringed instruments just includes too many variables for that level of precision.

There are a couple different concepts, I guess....

1. Probably 95% of the time when you hear someone say that an instrument is out of tune, they mean that the instrument is CURRENTLY out of tune and needs some quick adjustments so that it matches pitches with itself and the other instruments it's playing with.