Do I Enable My Kids with a Uke?

Thinker

Reaction score
OK - so I'm brand new to Uke playing. I've got a brand new, nice tenor, a good attitude, a lot of enthusiasm, and I've been having a stupid amount of fun. My kids (teenagers) have witnessed my goofing around. Now they want to join in. I've let them use mine, of course. (Carefully, very carefully - but that's been fine).

Here's what I'm thinking about: Assuming they are still interested in a few weeks (my standard thing with my kids and a new thing) do I go out and grab them a starter uke OR do I wait a little longer until I've gotten enough under my belt so I can be helpful to them? I'd like to be able to not have them get frustrated.

If I do get them one, should I get them a concert (better for smaller hands)? I think I'm assuming correctly that a tenor and a concert play well together.

Anybody have experience with propagating ukes among your kids when you, yourself, are a novice?

- Thinker

I think you think too much!
Enable away!!!
What a great way to spend time with your teens. Get them ukes...concert or soprano would be a great place to start. Inexpensive ukes can still sound decent and you could all be learning together.

Call up Uke Republic and get them a couple of makala dolpins in their favorite colors and let them join right in with you.. Have fun. Hook them in while you can!

I agree about the dolphins. They are very reasonable, very portable and durable.
Encourage the kids to play with and without you. The ukulele is very popular with the kids.