"Setting Up" a new entry level Uke'

The Big Kahuna

Reaction score
Hi, as some of you may have noticed from my newbie post, I'm new to Ukes and haven't yet bought one. My question, however, relates to out of the box setup.

A tiny bit of background might help save time when replying to me. I used to work in the instrument industry many years ago, at a chain of stores in the UK called Carlsboro Sound Centre, as "The Guitar Guy". Part of my job was the setup/repair of instruments, so I'm familiar with dressing frets, filing down or shimming up bridge saddles and replacing/adjusting the nut.

Now, I realise that most of the above may not apply to setting up a Uke', but what would you recommend looking at and attending to on, for example, a new £ 75 - £ 160 ($ 120 - $ 260) Tenor Uke' ?

The main issue I've noticed when watching Youtube video of Uke's being played is the sheer number of them with atrocious intonation. As a guitarist this is something that makes my teeth itch! I know it's unlikely to be a problem when strumming away at first position chords, but after 35 years of playing guitar, I'd like to bring some of that to the Uke' and be able to play right up to the end of the fretboard without it setting my teeth on edge because it's out of tune.

Anyway, sorry for the long-winded post, I'm like that ;)

Mahalo nui loa for the anticipated advice.

Buy a Ukulele from a music store that includes the "set up" such as from TheUkuleleSite.com

Massed produced Uke's will have high action and bad intonation. All can be corrected on a quality uke by the methods you've mentioned.

Why are you asking us? :D
You already have everything in your Big bag O tricks.
Every single thing you do to your six string you can do to your Ukes.
And with your routine and experience at this you should end up with a great player in no time.. ;)

Sorry, I suppose what I should have said was "can I apply what I know about 6 strings to a Uke' without killing its tone and playability"