Disappointing New Uke Day -- Dolphin edition

Lideruke

Reaction score
So I have a couple road trips coming up and thought I'd get a beater ukulele to take along. I went to Sam Ash and picked up a Makala Dolphin. I've read great things about them here.
I started playing it, having a good time just playing a handful of chords. Then I started playing down the neck a bit, and the strings sounded off, especially the C. I broke out my Snark and found that most of the frets aren't right, the resulting notes are almost all sharp.
I'm new to stringed instruments. But I still find it hard to believe this is something that will change over time, right? So then I have to ask if this is just how Dolphins are or if the one I bought just needs to be exchanged.
Please let me know.
Thanks

There is another active thread about this subject.
You chould check it out.

My flea is a great travel uke.
Just sayin'
:)

You should definitely see the other thread. From what I've read on these forums, you at least want to upgrade your strings.

Just sayin'

I'll second that! Not that I have one, but I do know that the Fleas and Flukes with a plastic fretboard (PCB or whatever) are always spot on with perfect intonation etcetera because there's no human element in producing the fretboard. That is, no blind monkey on the production line like the one that obviously put your Makala together!

I hope to be getting a Fluke soon and when I do it'll definitely be one with a plastic fretboard for that very reason. Also I hear that they don't use simians on the production line at the Magic Fluke Company.

Cheers,
Ash

My Dolphin (red) is the cutest thing I own, but I never play it.
You get what you pay for.

If fretting the strings pulls 'em sharp, the bridge saddle and/or the nut are too high.

SNIP... I went to Sam Ash and picked up a Makala Dolphin. SNIP... So then I have to ask if this is just how Dolphins are or if the one I bought just needs to be exchanged.
Please let me know.
Thanks