Building journal for my #5 uke - first Koa concert

UkeforJC

Reaction score
I am building this concert uke for my coworker who is interested in getting a koa uke for her husband and she does not mind that I am a pretty new builder.
It is nearly done, so I decided to start posting some pictures.

This is my # 5 build, but first time using the koa wood.

P1140594.jpgP1140704.jpg
She wanted one piece top and back, so we purchased a guitar set that is big enough for one piece top and back.

P1150805.jpg
Many master builders have told me: bend the sides before doing anything else. I first cut the sides to the right size , thicknessed the sides to around 2 mm. And bent them with a home made bending iron.

P1150829.jpgP1150852.jpg
So, the sides were bent, trimmed and tail block is glued on.

i will use bolt-on method to attach the neck, so I pre-drilled a hole on the tail block before I glued the block to the sides.
P1150851.jpgP1150854.jpg
I used a small block plane to make the radius on the block. Then the block was glued on.

P1150857.jpgP1150873.jpg
I somehow always like solid lining. I bent four pieces of spruce lining and glued them on.

P1150878.jpg

P1160547.jpg
To cut the bevel on the neck/tail block, I used my new finger plane, a Christmas present from my beloved wife last year. This small little plane is quite nice, but I think using a sharp chisel might be faster.

Now moving on to top and back. I planed down the wood to around 2mm.
P1150532.jpgP1150534.jpg
Well, what do you know. It is so pretty after I smoothed the surface.

P1160331.jpgP1160335.jpg
Then I cut the sound hole using a very easy jig. It worked very nicely.

Very nice! Thanks for posting plenty of photos - it is always interesting to see how others do particular tasks.

Many master builders have told me: bend the sides before doing anything else.