How do you guys do it? moving to a new uke? plus need advice on a pickin a pono

ICMB

Reaction score
Ive been playing uke for about 6 months just stuck with playing chords I like not much of a song person kinda made my own ones but my uke isnt the best quality and as im graduating in a month I feel that the time is right to move to a real uke but everytime I am about to buy my new one online I get nostalgia and play my old one and its kinda hard to move on I dont mean to seem weird being attached to my uke but its just kinda hard :S. and I will probably only be able to take one to Uni at the moment at least so its very hard xD

and the thing I wanted to ask was what is the difference between the Pono AT and the Pono ATD gloss because I stuck between both but it really is at my limit of money so I was just wondering.

im stuck between picking the Pono AT (maybe ATD depends on the difference because of cost) and the Kala KA-ASAC-T ive seen them in person tried them out and i prefer the pono but the kala just looks better and plays almost as nice and from what ive read they have a good reputation.

The difference between the Pono AT and ATD is the Gloss finish, which I prefer.

The Kala KA-ASAC-T is also, a very popular model which has the nice Slot Head. All three are very good quality solid Acacia ukes so, I would pick the one that you like best and comes with a set up.

AT has rosewood fretboard and bridge, ATD is ebony. The finish is the main difference.

Why the big price difference? its just gloss (sorry for my ignorance xD)

More labor involved to apply the Gloss Finish.

Masking, wet sanding the orange peel and several stages of buffing with different pads and compounds to achieve a smooth shiny finish.