Mandola Tuning on a Tenor Uke

Rick Turner

Reaction score
My son asked me what strings to use to tune one of our Compass Rose tenor ukes into mandola tuning, C, G, d, a. The scale length is right, and all you have to do is combine a couple of normal tension strings from a classical guitar set with a couple of extra high tension classical guitar strings. I sent him some sets of normal, high, and extra high tension D'Addario strings, and this is what he came up with.

The low C is an extra high tension 5th string
For the G use a normal tension 4th string
Next for D is an extra high tension 2nd string
And for A...either a uke A (1st) or a classical guitar normal 1st string

This puts you in mandola tuning which is an octave above cello, and it sounds glorious. His mom, a former cellist and current author and guitar teacher, is thrilled as well as it is perfect for her voice.

Thanks, Eli!

that's cool to know, I have been playing mandola for a few years and I love it... correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't what you got there basically a tenor guitar? maybe a mini tenor guitar :)

Yes, that's what you have...a short scale tenor guitar with nylon strings. And with a taropatch it would be a nylon string mandola.

It's Glorious!

I am now calling this musical hybrid a vio-lele and it has the easy and warm heart of the uke and the scale playability of a viola. The notes are identical.

If you want the joy of carefree strumming and chording on the uke but the tuning in fifths and the tonal range of a viola, this arrangement is so liberating.

Thanks to Eli, our thoughtful son, and to my wonderful former husband for this instrument that lends itself to gorgeous voicings and simple playability! It's hard to put down....

Jess