Need help with content for new DVD!

AaronC@HMS

Reaction score
Aloha UU'ers! When I put out MyUke 101,we were looking at the absolute beginner player. You know, the guys that had no previous experience with an instrument. This time around, however, I want to know what you guys would like to learn. I see the flaws that the first DVD had...i.e. doing a beginners vid in Low G... So tell me, what does the typical UU'er want to learn? I've asked my students at Hawaii Music School and some of my Skype students what they would like in an instructional DVD. So far we've come up with a little theory, some finger exercises, maybe a little sight reading, and some playalongs with detailed examples. I really want to make this the most useful and informative Ukulele instructional DVD I can, and would appreciate your feedback. How long should it be? Low G or High G easier to follow? Content? Any help is appreciated. You can also email me at hmsukelessons@gmail.com! Mahalo and Aloha!

How about methods that are different in high and low G (or are these 2 different DVDs)? For example banjo rolls and other techniques (finger picking patterns?) that are slightly different depending on one's selection of G string.

I think all things beyond chords are great. Maybe it is just me, but I would like to learn more exercises like scales all the way down the neck and other things I can do when I want to improve my skills.

Hope that helps...

I appreciate you asking this.

When you do demonstrations of strums, I'd like to see them from more than one angle---from straight on and from down the fretboard. Sometimes it's really hard to see what the fingers are doing from straight on when the hand is half-closed.

Also, I'd like to see the strums demonstrated first super-slow, then slow, then moderate, then at tempo. Viewers can stop the DVD, but when you're following along, your fingers need to do it 2-3 times slowly before they catch on.

Aaron: your online tutorials are outstanding.