I want to start the ukulele!

lpfun

Reaction score
So I wanna start playing the ukulele. I have a few questions though. Will I need to hire an instructor or have any type of teacher in order to learn how to play it? Or do you think I would be able to self-learn? Also, I have no experience in any type of guitar; so I am a total newbie at this. And which uke should I buy and what type of uke sounds the best for most songs? I'm looking towards buying a pretty cheap uke. So I found this:

http://folk-instruments.musiciansfriend.com/product/Lanikai-LU21-Standard-Ukulele?sku=512519

will this be sufficient? I can't tell what type of uke it is since it just says "standard" but there are also the tenor, baritone, and soprano types of this same guitar which costs $30-60 more. From reading the reviews, I hear this uke is pretty decent for a beginner. THANKS!

Well i can tell you this, I just got a Lanikai Tenor LU8E a few days ago and its a really nice looking and sounding instrument. Lanikai is considered a cheaper type uke. For these being made of Nato wood, They sound pretty good.....

I would suggest going to a local music store and seeing if they have a Soprano uke before buying online. at least then you can feel and play the instrument before you get it...Look for cracks and dings...Also press down on the fretboard too see if you feel comfortable with the feel of the board....Bad action on a fretboard is a fretted instrument players enemy.......

IF you do go with Musicians friend, I'd suggest you calling them and asking them to see how many they have in stock before you buy one....it says in stock....But they lie :rolleyes: TRUST ME! lol

JP

Do you need an Instructor? No. Is it nice having an Instructor when first learning? YES.

I started 6 mo. ago with Li'l Rev Ukulele Method 1 book and CD and was getting by when My other half got me lessons, it was nice being able to ask ????? face to face, you can learn alot from this site too.