concert or tenor for fingerpicking?

barefootgypsy

Reaction score
I love fingerpicking and am planning to get a new uke - I play a concert, but am wondering whether as time goes on, a tenor would be a better bet for fingerpicking. I don't like a tenor for strumming. I've got long fingers so I'm happy I could manage a tenor. I'm always trying ukuleles out at music shops, but I wonder, what size uke do fingerpickers out there prefer? I'm looking forward to reading your preferences! Thanks! :D

I've only ever played a Tenor.... well I have played a soprano, but only for a few strums XD

I tend to look at your question as someone who has played guitar for many years. So, do you see yourself playing more in high G or low G tuning? As a guitarist, I gravitate toward low G because I am much more comfortable with the lowest notes being on the bottom string. Especially when I'm fingerpicking. It just makes sense to me to have the thumb driving those big low notes. While sopranos and concerts often sound very good in low G, its my opinion that the larger sound box of the tenor is a better fit for low G tuning.

The second consideration is the width of the strings at the bridge. My limited experience with ukes tells me that generally the string width at the bridge is greater on tenors than on concerts. Especially if you have long fingers, you might appreciate the extra space between strings that a tenor would provide. I think most players can adapt, but if you are getting a new uke, why not get what feels most comfortable? For my fingerpicking style that means a tenor. Good luck with your search.

I think it might have as much to do with the type of song you're playing, not so much whether it is fingerpicked or not. A larger tenor size may give more oomph or drive necessary where a concert may give you a more delicate sound. YMMV.