chromatic progression problem

finkdaddy

Reaction score
I'm having trouble finding the third chord in this progression. Can you fill in the blank for me? C, E7, __, F.
Thanks!

Yes, Am is the logical choice. The only other chord that is commonly found in that progression is F, which you already have as the last chord.

It is not called a chromatic progression though. It is just a modulation.

Thanks you two!
Actually, I figured it out on my own and I think I was looking for a C7 since the bass is following a C, B, Bb, A progression.
But now I may have to try the Am and see if I might want to change that around.
Thanks again! :)

Actually, I figured it out on my own and I think I was looking for a C7 since the bass is following a C, B, Bb, A progression.

Ah, well that's different know that we know what the bass is doing. Your chords are more specifically: C, E7/B, ___, F/A.

So yeah, I think C7/Bb works great in that "blank". You could also try Gm/Bb.

JJ

I'm no expert, but I found a couple of things that sound nice in that sequence (I was strumming a sort of "You always hurt the one you love" strum).

One that I particularly like is a barred chord 7555 (F variant? - name anyone?) which adds a tension waiting to be resolved down to the open stringed F. I would then go back to C on to G7 and back to C to complete that phrase. Hmm, I may even feel a song coming on myself :cool:.

Another I liked was 3555 - again, no idea what this should be called :rolleyes:

BTW I don't know whether I'm notating these chords in the correct way. I'm going from the 1st (A) string upwards - so that 3555 would be CAFC. Is that right, or should it be the other way around?)

I took this thread and I ran with it.

Here is a recording of a song I wrote that grew out of this thread.
http://www.myspace.com/berniarmstrong/music/songs/it-dont-seem-to-make-much-difference-mp3-88240098