Do I have enough saddle to lower it? (Photos)

bearbike137

Reaction score
Hi all. I am new to setting up ukes (though I have been setting up guitars for years). I am trying to decide whether or not to keep a new Kamaka Tenor that was just sent to me. I LOVE the tone of the uke, but the action is a bit high at the 12th fret: 3.2 mm. I was hoping to bring it down to something closer to around 2.5 mm. However, I'm not sure I have enough saddle to do that (and still have adequate saddle remaining). The string height at the 1st fret is .8 mm. Please see photos below. Any thoughts? Thank you.

kamakasaddle2004.jpg

kamakasaddle2003.jpg

Last edited:
You can keep your eye on the break angle, as the string comes from the tie to the saddle. I don't want to bother you unduly but a shot from the tie to the bridge would clarify and be advantageous for other replies.
PS: From the two shots and looking at the 1st one closely I would say 1mm or 3/64ths from the saddle would be the 1st order of business. Take it in little increments at a time.

Last edited:
You should still have string clearance over the front of the bridge.
I've had perfectly fine saddles lower than what you have planned.

As Doc_J has said keep your eye on the clearance as the string leaves for the nut also.