Fifth fret

Thinker

Reaction score
Just tried to play crazy G, but I can't seem to get my pinky to the fifth fret with my ring finger on 2. Does this get better? I have smaller side of the spectrum hands for a guy my size (6'), but not unusually small.

Last edited:
Just triedmtomplay crazy G, but I can't seem to get my pinky to the mirth fret eith my ring finger on 2. Does this get better? I have small hands for a guy my size (6'), but not super small.

No, I've been playing for a couple of years and I still can't get my pinky to the mirth fret... :)

Seriously, yeah, it gets better unless you actually have a medical condition that would limit your mobility. THe muscles and tendons and joints in your hands are just like those in the rest of your body - stretch them regularly and they will move further, faster, with less pain.

John

With practice you will be able to reach further. I can now barre at the 2nd fret, and get my pinky to string #1, 7th fret (on a tenor neck). I couldn't do that when I was just starting out, even with guitar experience. Just keep practicing. If it proves to be a nagging problem, go for a shorter scale uke. You are playing a tenor, after all, and you will notice a difference if you move to a concert or soprano. Some songs are better for me on a concert or soprano (for long stretches), while other songs work out better for me on a tenor (for tight fingering on frets higher than the 7th).

–Lori

Mirth Fret! I love typos!

I'll keep working on it. It feels impossibly far away, but I've been watching the ease in which others do it.

I can now barre at the 2nd fret, and get my pinky to string #1, 7th fret.

I can do that on a soprano :) Anything else, forget it.