Would a strap button affect the value / desirability of a Kamaka?

Cornfield

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
The title tells it all. I have asked this question in another forum and didn't get many answers. Would a strap button on a Kamaka tenor affect the value or desirability?

Back story:I know I could use a uke thong or uke leash but don't care for their appearance. I would rather stand up at a mic than sit but I get such little stage time that I start to feel uncomfortable holding the instrument.

Cover the back in Velcro and wear a thick sweater.

I had a nice pono that the previous owner had put strap buttons on and I had a hard time reselling it because of them. I would say it you have to have them get nice solid wood ones from stewmac or somewhere.

Just found this, too.

Apologies if I'm posting stuff everyone already knows about. I'm just a newbie here :)

It really comes down to personal preference for the potinial buyers. I personally do not like strap buttons on my ukes and have decided to not buy a uke that had one, other end was a pick-up. But the next guy/gal may like starp buttons and be drawn to a uke with them.

Crap, I've just realised that what I've been talking about is the "Uke' Thong" the OP mentioned. Ignore me, I'm an idiot.

All of my ukes get strap buttons installed. I've owned 4 Kamakas and have sold 2 of them within hours of listing, without any problems of getting my asking price, despite the presence of strap buttons.

Ive personally never considered a value depreciation when doing anything to my ukulele , my only consideration is , how will it affect the playing , sound etc etc . if you want strap buttons and think it will make it easier for you to play , then bump value and go for it

My personal preference is that I wouldn't want strap buttons due to the simple fact that it does bring down the value of the uke.