PDA

View Full Version : How should I tune my uke?

Dorothy
05-10-2012, 12:23 AM
My daughter (who plays guitar) and I have joined our churches worship team. There are 2 acoustic guitars, 1 electric guitar, 1 base and a piano.

I find that my uke, tuned in GCEA just doesn't sound like it fits in with the mix. Should I tune it some other way?

I am still very new to playing. I just chord the songs. They all say it sounds ok ... but hey, it's a church group - they have to be supportive.

Thanks for any advice/suggestions.

chris667
05-10-2012, 12:59 AM
GCEA is usually fine. Just make sure you're playing the same chords. They are the same shapes as you get on a guitar, but in different places. If it sounds good, it is good, if it isn't try something else.

Hope that doesn't sound patronising, I don't know how much of a beginner you are!

1931jim
05-10-2012, 02:51 AM
At your church group the piano will be the tuning reference for everyone. Middle C will be the same for all instruments, and take it from there.
Unless the piano needs to be tuned, and I would doubt that is the case.

Dorothy
05-10-2012, 03:05 AM
I've only been playing for about 2 months ... and am still very very new.

Been thinking about this all evening and morning. And just realized that on the one song that I really noticed the difference the guitars and put capo's on. That might be it.

Maybe when my daughter and I both have time (she's so dang busy for a 15 year old!!) we can play chords together, so I can see how her guitars and my uke sound together.

Thanks!

Ukulele JJ
05-11-2012, 02:06 AM
on the one song that I really noticed the difference the guitars and put capos on. That might be it.

I'll bet you it is!

If a guitarist plays the standard "shape" for their G chord, but has a capo on, say, the third fret, it's really no longer a G chord (it's a Bb chord). But they might still call it a G chord, and tell you it's a G chord, and the music they're reading from might have a G chord written down.