True baritone? Opposite of tenor? Ukulele bass (not the kala way)

hey_day

Reaction score
I've been thinking of an instrument that has a ukulele type body and scale Or size roughly. I'm a guitarist and to me the ukulele tuning is the same as the High 4 strings of a guitar with a capo at the 5th fret. What about an instrument the is the lower 4 strings at that same spot? So it would be tuned ADGC of even EADG or anywhere in between. I commonly have allot of things written on the guitar using the bass string rather than the higher string. I know I'm essentially explaining a tiny bodied bass but I don't want it to be that low of an octave or with that thick of a string. I'd like it to feel and sound like a ukulele but the lower end. I picture it being a baritone size and scal maybe a slightly larger body. Does anything like this exist? Can a baritone uke do this? Any thoughts?

Sorry posted this in the wrong forum, should be in uke talk if a moderator could mOve for me?

yeah, just get a baritone uke and get the right strings.

Guadalupe has a custom baritone ukulele set that tunes to GCEA one octave lower than ukulele tuning, for example.
With the right strings, it can easily be done.

Some people also tuned their baritone uke as EADG, like a "piccolo bass".

Anyone have one like this? What kind if strings?

Certain gauges of classical guitar strings would work.

One thing I would say about this idea is that these tunings are too low to sound good acoustically. If you're doing it with an amped Baritone in mind, then it would work fine. For a "Bass" intrument of some sort, I'd imagine most people are thinking that way to begin with.